Declan McKenna Gig Review

Sorry for the lack of posting, I’ve been kind of out of the loop but I am planning to make time for it in between work and get back into the swing of things. Anyway, apologies aside I am coming at you with a brand new gig review! Last night, well early evening, my sister and I travelled into the depths of Kingston on Thames to watch Declan McKenna play a show to celebrate the release of his debut album ‘What Do You Think About The New Car?’. After a last minutes venue change and the addition of a full band, an intimate in store signing/gig morphed into an almost complete show at The Hippodrome. Tickets only came to £11 with a CD each, there wasn’t much to lose but it’s safe to say that Declan surpassed our expectations.

the ritualistic pre gig selfie (with a face hidden on request)

 

@hollyslater_

As Declan (+ band) were the only performers of the night, the gig was short but sweet with a setlist of 9 songs in total. Although we didn’t know many of the songs it was still a really fun set and the atmosphere was great, also considering the fact it was an album release show, a large portion of the crowd had a decent grip on a lot of the lyrics. Speaking of the crowd, the average age of attendees rounded to 16 and when coupled with the rainbow lighting it did have the remnants of a high school disco, not that we were complaining because the excitement was infectious.

An impromptu ‘Oh Jeremey Corbyn’ chant was met with the band jamming along with the White Stripes chords mid way through is always the sign of a good show in my book, it fully reflected the laid back and fun vibe. The final song of the night, Brazil, was the clear highlight of the night and the perfect closing song, a jaunty way to end a dynamic little gig. I  can’t wait to see what more Declan will bring in the future and I look forward to getting to know his music better, at just 18 I am sure the music scene has only just scratched the surface on his potential.

20170721_19370520170721_200841

I have a Kate Nash gig coming up in September, where she is performing the whole Made of Bricks album (13-year-old me will be living out her dreams), so keep an eye out for that! I also went to Benicassim last week, so I am tempted to put together a blog post all about my experience of the festival and my week in Spain, let me know if that’s something you’d be interested in down below. Thanks for reading!

kat-x

Leave a Reply

